Writing the DCI Jack Callum Mysteries

By Len Maynard 1) Three Monkeys ‘The Last Train to San Fernando barrelled down the stairs carried on Johnny Duncan’s nasal whine. Jack Callum sighed, laid down his newspaper and went out into the hall.’ Those were the first lines of a Jack Callum novel ever to find their way onto my computer in theContinue reading “Writing the DCI Jack Callum Mysteries”

Wolves of Wagria

Welcome to Eric Schumacher with spotlight on his new book, Wolves of Wagria (Olaf’s Saga Book 3). Published November 2022 / 344 pages Three kingdoms. Two friends. Only one way to survive. For fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden comes the tale of Olaf Tryggvason and his adventures in the battle-scarred kingdom of Wagria.Continue reading “Wolves of Wagria”

Skull’s Vengeance

Welcome Linnea Tanner with an excerpt from her new book. Skull’s Vengeance (Series: Curse of Clansmen and Kings, Book 4) @linneatanner @maryanneyarde #HistoricalFantasy #HistoricalFiction #HistoricalRomance #AncientRome #AncientBritannia #SkullsVengeance Publication Date: 18 October 2022 / 402 pages A Celtic warrior queen must do the impossible—defeat her sorcerer half-brother and claim the throne. But to do so,Continue reading “Skull’s Vengeance”

Squire’s Hazard

Welcome to Carolyn Hughes for an interview and focus on her new book Squire’s Hazard, The Fifth Meonbridge Chronicle. Published October 2022 / 360 pages @writingcalliope @cathiedunn #Medieval #HistoricalFiction #BlogTour #TheCoffeePotBookClub How do you overcome the loathing, lust and bitterness threatening you and your family’s honour? It’s 1363, and in Steyning Castle, Sussex, Dickon deContinue reading “Squire’s Hazard”

A Shape on the Air

On the blog today – spotlight on Julia Ibbotson’s, A Shape on the Air. Published January 2022 / 220 pages. @JuliaIbbotson @cathiedunn #historical #romance #timeslip #BlogTour #CoffeePotBookClub A haunting Anglo-Saxon time-slip of mystery and romance Can echoes of the past threaten the present? They are 1500 years apart, but can they reach out to eachContinue reading “A Shape on the Air”

Floats the Dark Shadow

On the blog today – An excerpt from Floats the Dark Shadow by Yves Fey Young American painter Theodora Faraday struggles to become an artist in Belle Époque Paris. She’s tasted the champagne of success, illustrating poems for the Revenants, a group of poets led by her adored cousin, Averill. When children she knows vanishContinue reading “Floats the Dark Shadow”